Law Offices in Houston and Bellaire
Call for a Free Initial Consultation
B. L. Jensen, L.P.B. L. Jensen, L.P.
Local: 832-460-3366
Toll Free: 877-297-7414

Se Habla Español Email Us

Suing a school over a terrible bus driver in Texas

Can you sue a school over a dangerous school bus driver that causes an accident, injuring you or a family member? Absolutely—as long as you make sure you follow the rules.

Suing a school district in Texas is always a bit complicated because the Texas Tort Claims Act defines schools as governmental units, giving them a broad sort of immunity from civil claims—but there are exceptions.

That includes things like bus drivers who run red lights with impunity, rack up speeding tickets, routinely cut off drivers or just generally drive recklessly enough to be a hazard to everyone under their care and on the surrounding roads.

Incidents involving school buses may be shockingly common. For example, investigative reporting in Dallas County found that more than $2 million in damages had been paid out in claims over school bus accidents in less than a 3-year period.

Given that section 101.023 of the TTCA sets damage caps on accidents involving school districts to $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence, that's a lot of individuals getting hurt—many of them likely children. And that figure doesn't give any real indicator of how many "near misses" went unreported.

Unsafe drivers aren't the only risks faced from school buses. All of those accidents take a toll on the buses themselves, which mean that damaged buses need to be repaired constantly. A school may attempt to cut corners and put a bus back on the road that's mechanically unsound, which can also lead to accidents.

It's important to have an attorney help guide you through a school bus accident claim, simply because there are so many unique aspects to them, aside from damage caps.

For example, Section 101.101 of the TTCA outlines special notice provisions that have to be given the school of the injuries claimed and other pertinent details. The time limits on the notification, however, vary by the city—but they're generally far shorter than those allowed by the state. That could cause someone who is thinking that he or she has the usual 2 years to decide to file a personal injury claim under the usual Texas statute of limitation to miss his or her opportunity to file forever.

Source: www.nbcdfw.com, "Dallas County Schools Settled More Than $2 Million in Accident Claims in Less Than 3 Years," Scott Friedman, Jan. 27, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Get A Free Consultation

How Can We Help?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Brian Jensen

Representation in the Houston Area with 3 Convenient Locations:

Bellaire Office
Frost Bank Building, 6750 West Loop South, Suite 800
Bellaire, TX 77401

Toll Free: 877-297-7414
Phone: 832-460-3366
Fax: 713-665-6818
Bellaire Law Office Map

Houston Office
By Appointment Only
440 Louisiana Street
Suite 2080
Houston, TX 77002

Toll Free: 877-297-7414
Phone: 832-460-3366
Map & Directions

Houston Office
By Appointment Only
14439 Twisted Oak Lane
Houston, TX 77079

Toll Free: 877-297-7414
Phone: 832-460-3366
Map & Directions

  • Super Lawyers
  • Distinguished AV | Peer review rated | for ethical standards and legal ability | LexisNexis Martindale Hubbell
  • Texas board of legal specialization TBLS 1974
  • Board Certified | Texas board of legal specialization | Personal Injury Trial Law
  • Texas trial lawyers association