Law Offices in Houston and Bellaire
Call for a Free Initial Consultation
B. L. Jensen, L.P.B. L. Jensen, L.P.
Local: 832-460-3366
Toll Free: 877-297-7414

Se Habla EspaƱol Email Us

Understanding Department of Transportation driving limits

The United States Department of Transportation limits both the number of hours and days a trucker may drive in a given week. It's thought that these rules ensure truckers are not only adequately rested, but capable of operating their trucks more safely as well.

Current DOT regulations allow truckers to drive up to 11-hours, but work no more than 14 total hours during any one day. The difference in time is intended to be taken for breaks, meals or refueling. DOT regulations require that truckers take a mandatory 30-minute break once they have been working for eight straight hours.

Every 14-hour period of work is considered a duty period. Truckers cannot start the next one until they have been off duty for at least 10 hours. Furthermore, they are not permitted to work more than 60 hours in any 7-day period.

Additionally, it's important to note that the 7-day period can only be restarted every 168 hours. During that span of time, the driver is required to have taken at least 34 consecutive hours off.

In cases in which truck drivers are returning to the same terminal from which they originated, they are permitted to increase their full work day up to 16 hours, although only 11 of those can be spent driving.

In situations involving adverse driving conditions that prevent drivers from reaching their intended destination within the 11 hours, there is an exception to the aforementioned guidelines. Truckers are allowed to drive for an additional two hours in these cases; however, only up to the 14th hour from which they came on duty.

If caught, truckers found to have violated driving limits may be forced to pull over on the side of the road. In these cases, it's only after they've accumulated adequate rest time to be back in compliance with DOT regulations that they may be allowed to operate their truck again.

In such cases, both the trucker and one's employer are subject to both state and local law enforcement fines ranging from $1,000 to $10,000, depending on the severity of the violation. Criminal charges may also be filed if it is proven they knowingly violated regulations as well.

If you have been injured in an accident you suspect might be attributable to driver negligence, a Houston, Texas, truck accident attorney can provide advice and guidance in your legal matter.

Source: TheBalance.com, "DOT freight and trucking hours of service limit regulations," Holly Schubert, Feb. 02, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Get A Free Consultation

How Can We Help?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Brian Jensen

Representation in the Houston Area with 3 Convenient Locations:

Bellaire Office
Frost Bank Building, 6750 West Loop South, Suite 800
Bellaire, TX 77401

Toll Free: 877-297-7414
Phone: 832-460-3366
Fax: 713-665-6818
Bellaire Law Office Map

Houston Office
By Appointment Only
440 Louisiana Street
Suite 2080
Houston, TX 77002

Toll Free: 877-297-7414
Phone: 832-460-3366
Map & Directions

Houston Office
By Appointment Only
14439 Twisted Oak Lane
Houston, TX 77079

Toll Free: 877-297-7414
Phone: 832-460-3366
Map & Directions

  • Super Lawyers
  • Distinguished AV | Peer review rated | for ethical standards and legal ability | LexisNexis Martindale Hubbell
  • Texas board of legal specialization TBLS 1974
  • Board Certified | Texas board of legal specialization | Personal Injury Trial Law
  • Texas trial lawyers association